Home News Where are the senior leaders of Awami League fighting in the election?

Where are the senior leaders of Awami League fighting in the election?

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

The 12th National Parliament election is going to be held on January 7 next year. Senior leaders of the ruling Awami League are also contesting this election. Many of these veteran leaders have never lost in the polls. This time they are also present. Voters and local leaders-activists think that these leaders, who are tested and experienced in the field of politics, will win the election battle once again.

Meanwhile, the national election campaign has started. Senior leaders are busy getting voter support. Plowing the constituencies.

Awami League’s senior leaders Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Matia Chowdhury, Sheikh Salim are contesting this time. Apart from this, Jatiya Party (JP) Anwar Hossain Manju is also fighting with the boat symbol.

Tofail Ahmed, who came into politics with Bangabandhu’s hand, was elected as the first member of Parliament in 1973 from Bhola-1 constituency. After that, he won this seat eight times in a row. Awami League hopes that the local people will trust him this time too. Jatiya Party’s Shahjahan Mia and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal’s Siddiqur Rahman are contesting with him.

Another veteran leader and former Industries Minister Amir Hossain Amu won the election from Jhalkathi for the first time in independent Bangladesh in 1973. This time also he has no strong rival in Jhalkathi-2 seat. Jatiya Party’s Nasir Uddin Imran and People’s Party’s Mohammad Forkan are fighting for this seat.

Deputy leader of the current parliament and former agriculture minister Matia Chowdhury has received party nomination from Sherpur-2 seat. Since 1991, he was elected member of parliament five times from Awami League. His rivals in this seat are Jasder Shahnaz Kibria and independent Muhammad Saeed.

Sheikh Fazlul Karim Salim is electing from Gopalganj-2 constituency. He has also been elected Member of Parliament for 8 consecutive times. His rival candidate is Trinamool BNI’s Jamal Uddin and Jatiya Party’s Kazi Shaheen along with two others.

Jatiya Party (JP) chief Anwar Hossain Manju, former forest and environment minister and seven-time parliamentarian, is contesting in Pirojpur-2 seat. This is the first time he has been a candidate from a 14-party alliance with the boat symbol. His rival there is Mohiuddin Maharaj, an independent candidate of the ruling party.

The Election Commission (EC) announced the schedule for the 12th National Assembly elections on November 15. According to the schedule, the candidates can campaign till 8 am on January 5. And the voting will be on January 7. A total of 28 EC-registered political parties are participating in this election. Observers from several countries including America, European Union will monitor the election.


You may also like

Leave a Comment