Home News We did not accept Awami League’s proposal: Inu

We did not accept Awami League’s proposal: Inu

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Awami League has decided to share seats with 14 parties in the 12th National Parliament elections. The party has agreed to leave 7 seats for 14 party members. However, the president of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasad) Hasanul Haque Inu said that this decision was not accepted and sent back for reconsideration. He made this comment on Thursday night.

Hasanul Haque Inu said, ‘The proposal made by Mr. Amir Hossain Amu is a preliminary proposal, which we have not accepted. I have called for a discussion with the leader for reconsideration.

Commenting on seat distribution and independent candidates, Inu said, ‘We think seats should be increased, independent candidates should be removed. It is recommended that the final discussion and release of the final list be based on an urgent meeting with the Prime Minister.’

Earlier on Thursday evening, Awami League decided to distribute the seats in a meeting with 14 leaders at the residence of alliance coordinator Amir Hossain Amur.

According to a source of the meeting, among the coalition partners, Awami League left three seats to Bangladesh Workers Party, three seats to Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSAD) and one seat to Jatiya Party (JP).

Workers Party got Barisal-3, Rajshahi-2 and Satkhira-1. Jasad Kushtia-2, Laxmipur-4, and Bogra-4, JP Pirojpur-2.

Among them, Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon has submitted nomination papers to contest Barisal-3 seat, Jasd President Hasanul Haque Inu has submitted nomination papers for Kushtia-2 seat and JP President Anwar Hossain Manju is electing from Pirojpur-2 seat.

Besides, Fazle Hossain Badsha of Workers Party will be elected in Rajshahi-2 constituency, Mustafa Lutfullah Ahsan of the same party in Satkhira-1, Mosharof Hossain of Jasder in Lakshipur-4 and Rezaul Karim Tansen of the same party in Bogra-4.

Members of the 14 parties had been meeting with the ruling Awami League for the past few days in view of the upcoming 12th National Parliament elections. So far leaders of 14 parties have held at least three meetings with the ruling party. In the first round, on December 4, the alliance leaders sat with Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina. At that time the alliance leaders gave a list of constituencies to the Awami League president as per their expectations.

The next day, they also met with Amir Hossain Amu, the alliance coordinator and Awami League advisory board member. Finally last Sunday night they met again with the Prime Minister. According to the decision of that meeting, the alliance partners will hold elections with Awami League’s boat symbol in the vacated seats. And in the rest of the constituencies they will vote with their own symbols.

Among the 44 political parties registered in the Election Commission, the candidates of 29 parties, including Awami League and Jatiya Party, are coming to the polls. On the other hand, 15 political parties including BNP have no candidates in this election.

According to the Election Commission, 303 people have asked for the boat of the ruling party Awami League in the country’s 300 parliamentary seats. Two candidates each filed nominations against boats in five seats. The partner parties of the 14-party alliance have also announced their own candidates.

Among them, 47 people have submitted their nominations for the ‘Flower Mala’ symbol of the Tariqat Federation, 6 people for the ‘Wheel’ symbol of the Communist Party, 12 people for the ‘Dove’ symbol of the Democratic Party, 20 people for the ‘Bicycle’ symbol of the Jatiya Party (JP), ‘Haturi’ of the Workers’ Party of Bangladesh. 33 people in ‘symbol and 91 people in ‘Mashal’ symbol of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasad).

The leaders of the ruling party have been saying that it will not be prevented if any of the party’s independent candidates in this election.

The 14-party alliance can be said to be the oldest of the political alliances currently in the polls. Political alliance Central 14 Party was formed in 2004 with some political parties supporting the liberation war to resist BNP-Jamaat. Awami League is the main partner of the alliance.

In 2009, the grand coalition led by Awami League came to power with a one-third majority. At this time, some leaders of the 14 parties were also included in the cabinet. This trend continued in the 2014 elections. Communist Party General Secretary Dilip Barua, Bangladesh Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JASD) President Hasanul Haque Inu and Jatiya Party (JP) President Anwar Hossain Manju have served as ministers for two consecutive terms.

However, after the Awami League came to power for the third consecutive term in the 2018 elections, no leader of the partner party was included in the cabinet. Awami League disagreed with the alliance leaders about this. Many coalition leaders have also openly criticized the ruling party. Of course, it didn’t take long for the ice to melt. Last July, the coalition leaders announced that they will come to the elections again in unity. As before, candidates of the central 14 parties will enter the voting field with the boat symbol of Awami League.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal announced the schedule of the 12th National Assembly elections on November 15. According to the schedule, the vote will be held on January 7. Last date for withdrawal of candidature is 17th December, and allotment of symbols will be on 18th December. Election campaign will start from December 18. It will continue until 8 am on January 5.


You may also like

Leave a Comment