Home News Voting over, counting underway

Voting over, counting underway

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Voting for the 12th National Assembly elections has ended. The polling started from 8 am and continued till 4 pm. Counting of votes has started.

Election Commission Secretary Jahangir Alam said in the Election Commission building at around 3:30 on Sunday, the polling of 7 centers has been canceled due to irregularities all over the country.

Jahangir Alam said that according to the counting of votes from various sources, 27.15 percent votes have been cast across the country till 3 pm. 25 percent votes were cast in Dhaka division seats. 27 percent in Chittagong division, 32 percent in Khulna, 22 percent in Sylhet, 29 percent in Mymensingh, 31 percent in Barisal, 26 percent in Rajshahi and Rangpur.

Meanwhile, there were some isolated incidents around the polling throughout the day. Although the voter turnout was low in the morning, the voter turnout in the center increased slightly as the afternoon progressed.

Jatiya Party (Japa) Chairman GM Quader termed this election as ‘vote robbery election’ but the ruling Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said that the polls were peaceful across the country. The election was free and fair.

There were 42 thousand 24 centers in this election. There were 2 lakh 60 thousand 856 polling booths. More than 200,000 election officials from returning officers to polling officers performed duties in the elections.

Among them are 66 returning officers, 590 assistant returning officers and more than 42 thousand presiding officers.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal announced the schedule of the 12th National Assembly elections on November 15. According to the schedule, the last date for filing nomination papers was last November 30. Nominations were collected from 1st to 4th December. And the appeal against the decision of the Returning Officer was filed from 6 to 15 December.

Besides, the deadline for withdrawal of candidature was December 17. And the symbol was allotted on 18 December. The candidates started campaigning that day. After that, the campaign continued till 8 am last Friday.

Out of 44 parties registered by the Election Commission (EC), 28 parties participated in this election. Other like-minded parties including BNP did not participate.


You may also like

Leave a Comment