Home News Voting in Naogaon-2 seat suspended

Voting in Naogaon-2 seat suspended

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

In the upcoming 12th National Assembly elections, even though voting will be held in all constituencies, Naogaon-2 (Dhamirhat-Patnitala) constituencies will not be polled. Election Commission (EC) has said that polling will be postponed due to the death of independent candidate Aminul Haque. Election Commission Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath announced this decision on Friday.

As per Election Commission rules, if a valid candidate dies in a constituency, the EC will suspend polling there. New schedule will be announced. So according to the RPO, polling in Naogaon-2 constituency will be postponed on January 7. On that day, the election will be held in 299 seats of the Parliament.

Independent candidate of Naogaon-2 seat, freedom fighter Aminul Haque (75) passed away. He died at a hospital in Dhaka around 4:30 am on Friday. It is known that on December 27, he was admitted to a hospital in Dhaka due to illness and heart attack.

Aminul Haque wanted Awami League’s nomination to participate in the 12th National Assembly elections from Naogaon-2 seat. He submitted nomination papers to contest the election as an independent candidate. But the Election Commission and Returning Officer pointed out various inconsistencies in his nomination paper and canceled his candidature.

Later, Aminul Haque filed a writ in the High Court to get back the candidature. After the hearing of the writ, the High Court ruled that the candidature of Aminul Haque was valid on Wednesday. He was allotted the eagle symbol at the Naogaon District Commissioner and Returning Officer’s office on Thursday.

In the Dhamirhat-Patnitala constituency (Naogaon-2), the government MP Shahiduzzaman Sarkar, Jatiya Party candidate Adv. Tofazzal Hossain, Awami League independent MP candidate Engineer Akhtarul Alam is contesting.


You may also like

Leave a Comment