Home News Violation of election code of conduct in Comilla, fined about 200,000 taka in 9 days

Violation of election code of conduct in Comilla, fined about 200,000 taka in 9 days

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Heavyweight candidates are being fined by the administration’s mobile court for violating the code of conduct in Comilla. Some people also had to respond to the grievances of the Election Investigation Committee. This list includes the candidate’s supporters, public representatives and activist-supporters.

They distributed khichuri with threats of injuring opponents, pulled colorful posters-banners, threatened to collect votes by force and collected fines. The highest number of fines occurred in Comilla-4 Devidwar Constituency.

According to the sources of the district administration, the administration has been strict in its position and collected fines of Tk. 222 thousand in at least 22 cases by conducting mobile courts from December 10 to December 19. The search committee has so far given two shocks to Awami League’s nominated boat candidate of Comilla Sadar Constituency AKM Bahauddin Bahar, Comilla-3 seat’s Awami League nominated candidate Yusuf Abdullah Haroon, Comilla-4 seat’s Awami League nominated candidate Razi Mohammad Fakhrul one shock, Comilla-5 seat’s one shock. Independent candidate MA Jaher is said to have given one, while Zakir Hussain, chairman of Manikar Char Union of Meghna, has given one.

Meanwhile, on December 18, after the allocation of symbols, the returning officer Deputy Commissioner Khandkar Mu. Mushfiqur Rahman said, ‘We want everyone to follow the code of conduct until the polling day. We don’t want to embarrass anyone.’

According to the district administration sources, last Tuesday, the election investigation committee gave two separate condolences to Awami League’s nominated candidate of Comilla Sadar Constituency AKM Bahauddin MPK. On the same day, a person was fined Tk 15,000 for attaching a banner to an electric pole for campaigning on behalf of the nominated candidate of Awami League in Comilla-4 Debidwar constituency. Awami League nominated candidate Abdus Sabur was fined Tk 10,000 for constructing a pylon in Daudandi of Comilla-1 constituency. For violating the code of conduct, independent candidate Abul Kalam Azad in Comilla-4 Devidwar was fined Tk 5,000, two supporters of independent candidate Mizanur Rahman in Comilla-11 constituency were fined Tk 20,000.

Apart from this, on the previous day on December 18, the executive magistrates collected a fine of 80,000 rupees after the mobile courts in various constituencies of Comilla for violation of the code of conduct. From December 10 to December 17, a fine of Tk 92,000 has been collected for violating the code of conduct.


You may also like

Leave a Comment