Home News Two more Metrorail stations are opening

Two more Metrorail stations are opening

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) Managing Director MAN Siddique said that two more Metrorail stations are being opened on December 13. The two new stations to be opened are Vijay Samari and Dhaka University.

We had given the action plan that we will launch all the stations within the next three months. In continuation of that, we are going to launch two new stations on December 13. These two stations are Vijay Samari and Dhaka University Metrorail Station.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the Uttara-Agargaon section of the country’s first Metrorail MRT Line-6 ​​on December 28 last year. Agargaon Motijheel section was inaugurated on November 4. As a result, Motijheel, the commercial center of the capital, can be reached in just 32 minutes by metro rail, which is 20.1 kilometers from Uttara. Metro rail operations will be extended to Kamalapur in phases.

DMTCL expects that 60,000 passengers per hour and 750,000 passengers per day will get the benefit of metro rail once the train service starts from Uttara to Kamalapur.

Initially, the metrorail is running on the Uttara-Motijheel section for four hours every day from 7:30 am to 11:30 pm. And Uttara-Agargaon section is running till 8:30 pm. The Agargaon-Motijheel route so far had Metrorail stops at Farmgate, Bangladesh Secretariat and Motijheel. A train is available every 10 minutes.

The fare chart created at the time of inauguration of Uttara-Agargaon section of MRT Line 6 is being followed for Uttara-Motijheel section as well.

According to the fare chart, the minimum fare is Rs.20 and the maximum fare is Rs.100 for Uttara to Motijheel travel. After the minimum fare of Tk 20 for the first two stations will be added Tk 10 per journey to each station.


You may also like

Leave a Comment