Home News There are more than eight hundred candidates in the election

There are more than eight hundred candidates in the election

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

On the last day of the withdrawal of candidature for the upcoming 12th National Parliament election, the total number of valid candidates is 1 thousand 896. 820 people have been excluded due to the withdrawal of nominations and the appeal of the Election Commission (EC) not being valid.

On Sunday evening, EC Secretary Md. Jahangir Alam confirmed this information to reporters.

Jahangir Alam said, ‘The total number of nomination papers was 2 thousand 716. 731 were canceled due to returning officer. 560 appeals were filed. 286 appeals were allowed. And 274 have been rejected. 347 have been withdrawn today (Sunday). 5 are suspended as per Article 2 of RPO 16. After the withdrawal of candidature, the total number of valid candidates till date is 1896.

Among the 44 political parties registered in the Election Commission, candidates of 29 parties including Awami League, Jatiya Party submitted their nomination papers to the EC to come to the election this time. On the other hand, 15 political parties including BNP have no candidates in this election.

The Election Commission has canceled the nomination of all the candidates of the Democratic Party on the complaint of chaos. As a result, they cannot participate in this election. The number of political parties in the election is 28.

The process of withdrawing candidature in the 12th National Parliament election ended at 4 pm on Sunday. Symbols will be allotted to the candidates next Monday. After this, the candidates can start the official campaign.

On the launch of the campaign, the EC Secretary said, ‘Our message to all the candidates participating in the election is that everyone should follow and abide by the electoral code of conduct.’

On November 15, the election commission announced the upcoming 12th National Assembly election schedule. According to the schedule, after the allotment of symbols on Monday, candidates can campaign till 8 am on January 5. And the voting will be on January 7.


You may also like

Leave a Comment