Home News The journey of the 12th National Parliament begins

The journey of the 12th National Parliament begins

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

The twelfth national parliament started its journey with the maximum number of independent parliamentarians. Tuesday at 3 o’clock Deputy Md. The first session of the twelfth parliament began under the chairmanship of Shamsul Haque Tuku.

After the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker, the President will administer oath to them on the first day of the session. Like the 11th parliament this time as the speaker. The ruling party Awami League has nominated Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury and Shamsul Haque Tuku for the post of Deputy Speaker.

After their oath, President Mohammad Sahabuddin will address the newly elected members of parliament for the first time at 4:30 pm.

As in the last two parliaments, the opposition party is the Jatiya Party. Apart from this, 62 independent members of parliament will be seen in the opposition role even though they are Awami League leaders. 59 of them are incumbent leaders of Awami League.

The ruling party says independent MPs have the most opportunity to constructively criticize the government from opposition roles in Parliament alongside the Jatiya Party.

The 12th National Parliament election was held on January 7. Out of 299 seats, Awami League alone gets 223 seats. Apart from this, Jatiya Party won 11 seats, independents won 62 seats and other parties got 3 seats.


You may also like

Leave a Comment