Home News The former BNP leaders who went to the election are not relieved

The former BNP leaders who went to the election are not relieved

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

The 12th National Assembly elections will be held on January 7. The mood of the election has already gathered. The neighborhoods are covered with posters and banners of the candidates. Some like-minded parties including BNP did not participate in it, but some former leaders of the party are participating.

However, most of the former BNP leaders who are candidates for the election outside the party’s decision are not relieved. They face strong rivals. For some, the electoral battle is easy, but for some, Awami League and independent candidates are the cause of headache.

Among the former leaders of BNP, most of the discussion is about Shahjahan Omar. The former minister and 4-time member of parliament is running on the boat symbol after leaving BNP and joining Awami League.

Awami League’s independent candidate M Moniruzzaman is challenging him in Jhalkathi-1 seat. However, Omar can easily win with the support of the local Awami League.

The candidate of Trinamool BNP in Narayanganj-1 constituency is former president of Narayanganj district BNP Taimur Alam Khandkar. His main rival is Textile and Jute Minister Golam Dastgir Ghazi. Former Upazila Parishad Chairman Shahjahan Bhuiyan is also an independent.

Former education minister Nurul Islam Nahid is the main rival of Trinamool BNP chairman Shamser Mobin Chowdhury in Sylhet-6 seat. However, former BNP leader Shamser is hoping to win.

Major Akhtaruzzaman, former member of parliament expelled from BNP, is contesting in Kishoreganj-2 seat. His fight will be with former Additional IG of Police Abdul Kahar Akander, the candidate of Boat.

Independent candidate for Comilla-5 constituency is former vice chairman of BNP, journalist Shaukat Mahmud. His main rival, Abul Hashem Khan, is hospitalized. Shaukat can win if BNP-Jamaat workers support him.

Also, several former members of parliament of BNP have become candidates for Trinamool BNP, BNM and BNF across the country.

The Election Commission (EC) announced the schedule for the 12th National Assembly elections on November 15. According to the schedule, the candidates can campaign till 8 am on January 5. And the voting will be on January 7. A total of 28 EC-registered political parties are participating in this election. Observers from several countries including America, European Union will monitor the election.


You may also like

Leave a Comment