Home News Sheikh Hasina set an example

Sheikh Hasina set an example

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina created a rare example in the history of the country. He has been a member of Parliament for eight consecutive times. Then the President decided to appoint him as the Prime Minister. Bangabandhu wrote her name in history by taking oath as Prime Minister on Thursday.

Sheikh Hasina got the responsibility of forming the government and running the country for the fifth time in a row by taking the oath. He also set the record for the most number of government formations.

Sheikh Hasina, the shaper of development, the visionary of building a smart Bangladesh. One of the most influential statesmen in the world. Some call her the ‘Daughter of Democracy’.

Sheikh Hasina is a unique example of reality even though it is like a fairy tale. After the assassination of Bangabandhu, he returned to the country in 1981 and took responsibility of Awami League. Join the struggle for democracy. Along with the movement to overthrow the dictatorship, he participated in the first election in 1986 in Gopalganj-3 constituency. Since then he has won every time in this seat. Elected Member of Parliament for the eighth time in the 12th National Parliament Elections.

By winning this election, Sheikh Hasina created a unique record in running the country. He formed the government for the fourth consecutive time since 2008. Before this, he brought the party to power in 1996. Awami League came to power twenty years after the assassination of Bangabandhu under the leadership of Sheikh Hasina.

Bangabandhu’s daughter Sheikh Hasina is a popular figure not only in the country’s politics but also in world politics. Keeping in mind the context of 1971, Myanmar’s sheltering of the displaced Rohingya was praised all over the world. The country which was once called a bottomless basket, under his able leadership, the country is moving towards the ranks of developing countries.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has raised Bangladesh to a unique height in the whole world on the path shown by Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

Bangabandhu’s daughter, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, is the main architect of bringing Bangladesh to the international level. In this foreign policy of ‘no enmity with anyone, friendship with all’, the government has maintained its position even in the polarization of multi-faceted geopolitics. She has repeatedly appeared in the list of influential women leaders in the world.

In Asian countries, long term state-power is not a new trend. Even across the globe there is such a trend. Although this trend is most visible in African countries. Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina took another step towards that unique record.

Those who were in power for a long time in Asia

Hassanal Balkhia has been ruling the country as the Sultan of Brunei since 1968. It is said that after the death of British Queen Elizabeth II, he is now the world’s longest serving head of state. Balkhia reigned five years longer than Queen Margaret II of Denmark. Margaret II is currently the second longest reigning monarch.

Hun Sen was the longest-serving ruler in Cambodia’s history. He was the prime minister for 25 years from 1998 to 2023. Before this, Hun Sen was holding various powerful positions of the state from Deputy Prime Minister. In total, this 70-year-old ruler ruled Cambodia for almost four decades. However, on August 22 last year, he announced his resignation from the Prime Ministership. Hun Sen announced the name of his son Hun Menet as the successor.

Nursultan Nazarbayev was the last leader of the Soviet era in the present world. He was in power in Kazakhstan for thirty years. Nursultan Nazarbayev has been in power since Kazakhstan became an independent state after the collapse of the Soviet Union. He resigned in March 2019.

Emomali Rakhmon is known as iron man of Tajikistan. Since 1992, Rakhmon has been running the country of 9.5 million people. There was also a civil war during his reign. He gradually consolidated his power and in 2016 amended the constitution to extend the presidential term to seven years. In 2020, Emomali Rakhman has assumed the responsibility of the president for the fifth time in a row.

North Korea’s founder, Kim Il Sung, ruled the country for 46 consecutive years. He died in his office at the age of 82 in 1994. Taiwan’s first president, Chiang Kai-shek, was in power for 47 years.

Mahathir Mohamad served as the Prime Minister of Malaysia for 22 consecutive years from 1981 to 2003. He is credited with the massive economic development and transformation of Malaysia in the 1980s. He returned to politics from retirement in 2018.

After taking power from Sukarno in 1967, Suharto ruled the country as the president of Indonesia for a long 31 years.


You may also like

Leave a Comment