Home Business Saudi-Iran to join BRICS, Argentina’s ‘no’

Saudi-Iran to join BRICS, Argentina’s ‘no’

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Saudi Arabia, Iran, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Egypt and Ethiopia have officially joined BRICS, an alliance of emerging economies. The South African Ministry of Foreign Affairs confirmed this information on Wednesday.

However, Argentina refused to join BRICS. This country was also supposed to join the alliance.

The BRICS summit was held in Johannesburg, South Africa in August last year. 6 countries including Saudi Arabia, Argentina were invited to join the conference as part of the expansion of the alliance.

On Wednesday, 5 countries including Saudi Arabia confirmed joining the alliance. The member countries said that this step will help in reforming the global system. Brazil, Russia, China, India and South Africa are among 34 other countries interested in joining the alliance.

The goal of this alliance formed to dominate the world economy by the year 2050 – world peace, security, development and cooperation. Apart from this, BRICS wants to play a role in establishing human rights and justice.


You may also like

Leave a Comment