Home News Reserved seats: Independent MPs support Awami League

Reserved seats: Independent MPs support Awami League

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Awami League has submitted a letter of support to the Election Commission (EC) from 14 party members and independent parliamentarians regarding the distribution of reserved seats for women in the 12th National Parliament. 48 seats have been allotted to independents and Awami League in reserved seats.

The representatives of the party submitted the letter signed by Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader to the EC Secretary on Wednesday afternoon.

EC Secretary Md. After handing over the letter to Jahangir Alam, the party’s organizational secretary and parliamentary whip Abu Saeed Al Mahmud Swapan said that 62 independent MPs would support the Awami League nominated candidates. Separate letters in this regard have been given to the EC Secretary. Now the commission will take necessary steps.

Earlier, in a press conference on Wednesday morning, Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said that the party’s tried and sacrificed leaders will be evaluated in the case of nominations for reserved seats. He said that out of 50 reserved seats, Awami League will get 38 seats and independents will get 10 seats each.

In the last January 7 election, Awami League won 223 seats, alliance partner Jasad 1, Workers Party 1 and independent candidates got 62 seats. Apart from this, Jatiya Party got 11 seats and Kalyan Party got 1 seat.


You may also like

Leave a Comment