Home News Rabeya Khatun is a bright star in the literary arena

Rabeya Khatun is a bright star in the literary arena

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Rabeya Khatun made her debut as a writer in the fifties. He was wandering in various branches of literature. Besides writing, he also does teaching and journalism. A women’s monthly magazine called ‘Angana’ was published under his editorship in the fifties. Rabeya Khatun has been awarded numerous awards including Ekushey Padak, Bangla Academy. Muslim women writers were very few in number during her time. He made his debut as a writer at that time. Rabeya Khatun was born on December 27, 1935 in Vikrampur.

Rabeya Khatun’s father Maulvi Mohammad Mullook Chand and mother Hamida Khatun. He passed Entrance (Secondary) from Armanitola School in 1948. He started writing from the age of 12-13. In 1948, his short story ‘Question’ was published in East-Pakistan’s first progressive weekly ‘Jur Daabi’. His first book ‘Madhumati’ was published on 1 July 1963. He writes novels, short stories, travelogues, juvenile novels. Director Chazhi Nazrul Islam made the film based on the popular liberation war novel ‘Megher Par Megh’ written by Rabeya Khatun. Director Shahjahan Chowdhury made a film based on ‘Madhumati’. Actress Moushumi produced a film based on his writing ‘Kakhno Megh Kahbi Bristhi’.

Novels written by Rabeya Khatun include Madhumati, Saheb Bazar, Anant Anvesha, Rajarbagh Shalimarbagh, Man Ek Shwet Kapoti, Ferrari Surya, One of Many, Another Name of Life, Divas Rajni, That Ek Basant, Mohar Ali, Neel Nishit, One Lane of Bayanna Gali , birds sing all the time, beautiful afternoon in Naina Lake, mid summer, Hanif’s horse, Hiran Dah, this evening’, Hotel Green Button, the name of the garden is Malnichhara, dear Gulshana, Vasant Villa, Chaya Rani, Beauty News, Matters Close to Heart, Malini’s Afternoon, Stained glass windows etc.

He received the Ekushe Padak (1993), Bangla Academy Award (1973), Naseeruddin Gold Medal (1995), Humayun Smriti Award (1989), Qamar Mushtari Sahitya Award (1994), Bangladesh Writers’ Association Award (1994), Sher-e- Bangla Gold Medal (1996), Rishi Sahitya Medal (1998), Laila Samad Award (1999) and Ananya Sahitya Award (1999). Received Natyasabha award for short stories (1998). Awarded Shapla Doyle Award (1996), Atish Dipankar Award (1998), Euro Children’s Literature Award (2003) for science fiction and juvenile novels. The short stories and novels have been adapted into films like President (1966), Kabhi Megh Kabhi Rain (2003), Meagher Pari Megh (2004), Dhruvatara, Madhumati (2010). He has won numerous awards and honors including the Tenacious Award (1997), Bacchus (Bangladesh Film Journalists Association), Bangladesh Cultural Reporters Association Millennium Award (2000), Television Reporters Award (2000) for TV dramas. Rabeya Khatun will be remembered for wandering in various branches of Bengali literature.


You may also like

Leave a Comment