Home News Prime Minister advises independent MPs to imbibe the constitution

Prime Minister advises independent MPs to imbibe the constitution

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina advised independent MPs to learn the history of Bangladesh and learn the constitution. The head of government also said that the rules of procedure of the parliament should be read. Meanwhile, the Prime Minister also said that zero tolerance against corruption and arson will continue.

He said this in a meeting with individual MPs at Ganobhaban on Sunday evening.

In the meeting, Sheikh Hasina also highlighted the promise of building houses for the landless and homeless in the constituencies of individual MPs. The Chief Minister advised to take up all the projects which will be meaningful for the people.

The Prime Minister held a meeting with independent MPs before the first session of the 12th Parliament on Tuesday. 62 independent parliamentarians were invited to this meeting. 59 of whom are Awami League leaders. Jatiya Sangsad Chief Whip Noor e Alam Chowdhury presided over the meeting.

Addressing individual MPs at the beginning of the meeting, the Prime Minister said, ‘Our parliament is a Westminster type parliament. Parliament should know the practice well.’

As the BNP and like-minded parties did not come to the election on January 7, Awami League leaders of various levels went to the polls as independent candidates against the party candidates to create a competitive atmosphere in the election. Independent candidates won in 62 seats. Awami League won 223 seats. Awami League partner Bangladesh Workers Party and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal get one seat each. Bangladesh Kalyan Party won one with the support of Awami League.

On the other hand, the main opposition party of the last two parliaments, the Jatiya Party, has been exempted and the Awami League has nominated boat candidates in 26 seats. But in 14 independent candidates, the leaders of the ruling party defeated Langal’s candidate. The Jatiya Party, the second largest party in Parliament, reduced its seats to 11 after a record number of independent candidates won.

Jatiya Party Chairman GM Quader who got 11 seats in this year’s Parliament has been nominated by the Speaker of Jatiya Sangsad as the Leader of the Opposition. And Anisul Islam Mahmud has been nominated as the deputy leader of the opposition party.


You may also like

Leave a Comment