Home News Not 300, this time voting will be in 299 seats

Not 300, this time voting will be in 299 seats

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

According to the schedule of the 12th National Assembly elections, polling will be held across the country on January 7. According to the Election Commission (EC) schedule, this polling is supposed to be held simultaneously in 300 seats. But not 300, the 12th National Assembly will be polled in 299 seats. EC has postponed polling in Naogaon-2 seat.

Independent candidate of Naogaon-2 seat, freedom fighter Aminul Haque (75) passed away. He died at a hospital in Dhaka around 4:30 am on Friday. Because of this, the EC has decided to postpone the polling in this seat. Election Commission Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath announced this decision on Friday.

As per Election Commission rules, if a valid candidate dies in a constituency, the EC will suspend polling there. New schedule will be announced. So according to the RPO, polling in Naogaon-2 constituency will be postponed on January 7. On that day, the election will be held in 299 seats of the Parliament.

EC Additional Secretary Ashok Kumar Debnath said on Friday afternoon that the Naogaon Returning Officer will officially announce the suspension of polling. The Election Commission will later decide on the new date of polling there. New schedule will be announced for that constituency.

However, Ashok Kumar Debnath also said that candidates who are finally declared valid do not have to submit nomination papers again. Do not pay the security deposit. The additional secretary said that anyone can be a new candidate if they want.

Aminul Haque wanted Awami League’s nomination to participate in the 12th National Assembly elections from Naogaon-2 seat. He submitted nomination papers to contest the election as an independent candidate. But the Election Commission and Returning Officer pointed out various inconsistencies in his nomination paper and canceled his candidature.

Later, Aminul Haque filed a writ in the High Court to get back the candidature. After the hearing of the writ, the High Court ruled that the candidature of Aminul Haque was valid on Wednesday. He was allotted the eagle symbol at the Naogaon District Commissioner and Returning Officer’s office on Thursday.

In the Dhamirhat-Patnitala constituency (Naogaon-2), the government MP Shahiduzzaman Sarkar, Jatiya Party candidate Adv. Tofazzal Hossain, Awami League independent MP candidate Engineer Akhtarul Alam is contesting.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal announced the schedule of the 12th National Assembly elections on November 15. According to the schedule, the vote will be held on January 7.

Last date for submission of nomination papers was 30 November, selection of nomination papers from 1 to 4 December. The opportunity to file an appeal against the Returning Officer’s decision was from December 6 to 15. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is fixed on 17th December, and allotment of symbols is on 18th December. The promotion started from last December 18. It will continue until 8 am on January 5.


You may also like

Leave a Comment