Home News Nilufar Anjum is the boat candidate who won Mymensingh-3 seats

Nilufar Anjum is the boat candidate who won Mymensingh-3 seats

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Mymensingh-3 (Gouripur) constituency was won privately by boat candidate Nilufar Anjum. He got total votes of 54 thousand 491. His nearest rival Somnath Saha of Truck Pratik got 52 thousand 566 votes.

EC Joint Secretary Farhad Ahmed Khan gave this information after the polling at Bhalukapur High School, which was postponed due to irregularities on Saturday.

Around 55.3 per cent votes were polled in Bhalukapur High School Centre, the stalled center of Mymensingh-3 (Gauripur) constituency. Total voters in this center are 3 thousand 32 people. And 1 thousand 677 votes were cast. In all, the voting rate in 92 centers of Mymensingh-3 (Gouripur) constituency is 44.35 percent.

Voting started at 8 am in Bhalukapur High School Center which was suspended due to irregularities and continued till 4 pm. Ignoring the cold, voters flocked to the center from morning. As time goes on, the presence of women voters increases along with men. 5 levels of security are taken to ensure seamless voting.

On January 7, the election commission suspended the polling of the center due to irregularities and violence on the day of the 12th National Assembly election. At around 4:30 pm that day, vandalism and looting of ballots took place at Bhalukapur High School Center in Sahnati Union of Gouripur Upazila. After that the polling was suspended in the centre. It also hampered the determination of Mymensingh-3 seat results. Because the difference between the leading candidate and the nearest rival was 985 votes.

As a result of 91 centers, it can be seen that Nilufar Anjum got 53 thousand 196 votes in the boat symbol. The nearest rival Somnath Saha got 52 thousand 211 votes.

1295 got the boat symbol out of 3 thousand 32 votes of Bhalukapur High School Centre. And individual trucks got 355 votes.

Incidentally, Nilufar Anjum, who won Mymensingh-3 (Gauripur) constituency, is the wife of Awami League’s Gouripur Upazila branch president and former Special Assistant to the Prime Minister late Mahbubul Haque Shakeel.


You may also like

Leave a Comment