Home News Naogaon-2 Constituency polls on February 12

Naogaon-2 Constituency polls on February 12

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Polling will be held on February 12 in Naogaon-2 (Dhamirhat-Patnitala) constituency, which was postponed due to the death of an independent candidate, the Election Commissioner said.

This information was given in a circular signed by Election Commission Secretary Jahangir Alam on Monday.

According to the Election Commission, the last date for submission of nomination papers in that seat is Wednesday, January 17, and the date of selection of nomination papers is Thursday, January 18. Appeal against decision of Returning Office from 19 January to 23 January. Appeal disposal on Wednesday, January 24.

Besides, the deadline for withdrawal of candidature was January 25. And the symbol was allocated on Friday 26th January. However, after the announcement of the election schedule on November 15, those whose names are in the list of contesting candidates do not have to file nomination papers again and do not have to deposit security money.

It is to be noted that the Election Commission postponed the polling due to the death of independent candidate Aminul Haque. According to Election Commission rules, if a valid candidate dies in a constituency, the EC will suspend polling there. New schedule will be announced. So as per RPO, polling in Naogaon-2 seat was postponed on January 7.

Aminul Haque wanted Awami League’s nomination to participate in the 12th National Assembly elections from Naogaon-2 seat. He submitted nomination papers to contest the election as an independent candidate. But the Election Commission and Returning Officer pointed out various inconsistencies in his nomination paper and canceled his candidature.

Later, Aminul Haque filed a writ in the High Court to get back the candidature. After hearing the writ, the High Court ruled that Aminul Haque’s candidature was valid. Naogaon District Commissioner and Returning Officer allotted him the eagle symbol.

In the Dhamirhat-Patnitala constituency (Naogaon-2), the government MP Shahiduzzaman Sarkar, Jatiya Party candidate Adv. Tofazzal Hossain, Awami League independent MP candidate Engineer Akhtarul Alam is contesting.


You may also like

Leave a Comment