Home Sports Middle stump is almost uprooted, but Bell doesn’t budge – out or not out?

Middle stump is almost uprooted, but Bell doesn’t budge – out or not out?

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Isn’t it strange to read the title?

In cricket, the two balls are absolutely attached to the three stumps. Occasionally, the ball may have just touched the stumps, which was not strong enough to shake the bell. In that case it may not be out. But the middle stump is completely uprooted, while the bell does not move – how can this happen! And if this is the case, what will be the decision of the umpire?

The question arises because of a club match in Australia. The names of the two clubs are not known, but that much is known about local cricket in Melbourne. The delivery from the bowler hits it right on middle stump, it moves the stumps, is about to be lifted, but not quite. The amazing thing is that even though the bell is supposed to fly, the bell is absolutely ‘no move!’ Bell is in place.

As the picture has gone viral, the umpire’s decision has raised questions in the minds of cricket lovers. The umpire declared ‘not out’ to the batsman!

Controversy has naturally gathered after knowing the viral picture on social media and the umpire’s decision about it. According to some, the umpire made the right decision, as the stumps did not quite lift off the ground, and neither did the bell. According to some, the umpire’s decision was unfair to the bowler. Some are criticizing the umpire arguing that since the bell did not fall after the stump moved like this, it means that the umpire did not check whether the stump was planted properly or not. It is also included in the main responsibility of the umpire!

What does the law of cricket say about this? According to Section 31 of the MCC Act, the umpire’s decision is correct. The law reads, ‘A wicket shall be deemed to have fallen if the ball or the batsman’s bat or (in the case of a runout/stumping) the ball falls over the stumps, or both balls fall, or the stumps are lifted from the ground. A fielder can also cause the wicket to fall with his hand or arm, in which case the stump must be completely uprooted if the ball has already fallen, provided that the fielder has the ball in hand. ‘



source

You may also like

Leave a Comment