Home News Individual MPs were invited to Ganabhaban

Individual MPs were invited to Ganabhaban

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has invited the members of Parliament elected as independent candidates in the 12th National Parliament Elections to the Ganabhaban. Awami League office secretary Biplab Barua confirmed this information to the media.

Biplab Barua said, ‘Bangladesh Awami League President and Hon’ble Prime Minister Bangabandhu’s daughter Sheikh Hasina has invited all members of the 12th National Parliament to her official residence Ganabhaban on Sunday, January 28 at 6:30 pm.’

Awami League led by Sheikh Hasina formed the government for the fourth time in a row after winning the elections on January 7. Awami League got 222 seats out of 299 seats in this election. Bangladesh Workers Party and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal) which came in alliance with Awami League got one seat each. And Bangladesh Kalyan Party got 1 seat.

In contrast, Jatiya Party has only 11 seats. And independents got 62 seats. No previous election in the history of the country has seen such a large number of independent candidates winning the elections. In the meantime, the newly elected parliamentarians have taken oath.

Awami League President Sheikh Hasina took oath as Prime Minister for the 5th time on January 11. 36 members of the new cabinet took oath on this day. However, many discussions are going on about who will sit in the seat of the main opposition party or who will be the leader of the opposition party.

If the 62 MPs elected as independents can form a coalition, they will be considered as the opposition party in the parliament. If the independent MPs do not form a coalition, the Jatiya Party will be the opposition party in the Parliament with 11 seats.

The first session of the twelfth parliament will be held on January 30 with the newly elected parliamentarians.


You may also like

Leave a Comment