Home News Independent Television journalist, documentary program Talash won the TIB award

Independent Television journalist, documentary program Talash won the TIB award

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Three journalists received Transparency International Bangladesh (TIB) awards for investigative journalism. Among the three winning journalists, Hasan Misbah, the senior reporter of Independent Television, received the award in the television category. The winner in the Television (Documentary) category was Independent Television’s documentary program ‘Talaash’.

The other two winners are Shariful Islam (Shariful Rukon), Chief Correspondent of ‘Ekushe Patrika.com’ of Chittagong Regional Newspaper Division and Zahid Hasan Shakeel, Sabar correspondent of ‘Dainik Kaler Kantha’ newspaper of National Newspaper Division.

‘Investigative Journalism Award 2023’ was given at Midas Center in Dhanmondi of the capital on Saturday afternoon.

Winner Independent Television Senior Correspondent Hasan Misbah won the award for a report aired on Independent Television on 8 September 2022 entitled ‘SPA Medical Fraud’. And Talash team won the TIB award this year for the documentary program aired on May 27, 2022 titled ‘Bribery Trade in Labor Building’. Winner Journalist Shariful Islam on August 25, 2022 ‘Companies helpless in the face of counterfeit drugs’, ‘Farce in the name of drug testing! He won this award for his three-part series of reports published under the title. Award winner Zahid Hasan Shakeel won the TIB Award for his investigative report published in Dainik Kaler Kantha newspaper on May 11, 2022 entitled ‘Mamlar Dharan Bade Jai Ashulia Thanay’.

The jury of the 2023 Investigative Journalism Awards evaluated this year’s reports in two rounds for impartial and more acceptable judging. The judges for the preliminary round were Pinaki Roy, Chief Correspondent of The Daily Star and Kabir Ahmed, Assignment Editor of Ekatar Television. The judges for the final round were Dhaka Tribune Executive Editor Riaz Ahmed, News Twenty Four Chief News Editor Shahnaz Munni, Baisakhi Television Planning Consultant Zulfikar Ali and Investigative Journalist and Investigative Journalism Trainer Mohammad Badruddoza.

The award is being accepted by the team members of Independent Television's documentary show 'Talaash'.  Photo: Independent Television

A total of 54 reports were submitted for TIB’s Investigative Journalism Awards this year. Out of which 11 reports are submitted in the regional newspaper section, 30 in the national newspaper section, nine in the television section and 4 in the documentary program section. This time, the three winners who were evaluated by the judges were awarded certificates, crests and one hundred and twenty five thousand rupees.

However, in the collective judgment of the judges, the cameraperson was not awarded separately as the cameraperson did not have a special role in the winning television report. A documentary program is awarded on the recommendation of the judges in the documentary program category. Certificate of Merit, Crest and Prize of Rs.150,000 was awarded for the award ceremony.


You may also like

Leave a Comment