Home News Cocktail explosion in front of polling station in Kalkini, Madaripur

Cocktail explosion in front of polling station in Kalkini, Madaripur

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

A cocktail was detonated in front of a polling booth at Kalkini in Madaripur. Police also recovered a fresh cocktail from the spot. The incident took place at polling station number 72 of Kalkini upazila around 8 pm on Saturday.

This is Gopalpur Government Primary School Polling Station. Total voters here are 1 thousand 692 people. Among them, 870 male voters, and 822 female voters.

According to several local sources, the presiding officer and members of the law and order force arrived at the Gopalpur Government Primary School No. 72 polling station with election equipment from the office of the Government Returning Officer on Saturday afternoon. Later in the night miscreants suddenly threw cocktails in front of the centre. A few cocktails exploded at this time. Panic spread around. On receiving the information, Kalkini Thana police visited the spot. Police recovered a fresh cocktail from the spot.

Officer-in-Charge (OC) of Madaripur’s Kalkini police station Sardar Abdullah Al Mamun said that the police went to the spot after receiving the information. Additional police have been deployed in the area. The situation is normal.

Assistant Returning Officer and Kalkini Upazila Nirbahi Officer (UNO) of Madaripur-3 Constituency Uttam Kumar Das said that cocktail explosions took place outside the polling station. The recovered cocktail is in police custody. The recovered cocktail will be disposed of with the help of competent officials.

It should be noted that Awami League candidate in Madaripur-3 seat. Abdus Sobhan Mia Golap, independent candidate Tahmina Begum, Jatiya Party. Abdul Khalek, Praveen Halder of Trinamool BNP, Nitai Chakraborty of Bangladesh Supreme Party, Nakul Kumar Biswas of Krishak-Shramik-Janata League. 15 unions and one municipality of Kalkini and Dasar upazilas. The total number of voters in Madaripur-3 constituencies consisting of five unions of Madaripur Sadar is 3 lakh 57 thousand 856 people. 1 lakh 86 thousand 893 male voters and 1 lakh 70 thousand 960 female voters. Apart from this, the number of Hijra voters is 3 people.


You may also like

Leave a Comment