Home Sports Chittagong showed Sylhet’s batting power

Chittagong showed Sylhet’s batting power

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Many spectators were leaving the Mirpur Stadium after seeing Sylhet Strikers’ 177 runs in the second match of the first day of BPL. Many of them thought that Chittagong Challengers had already lost the match. But they will surely be disappointed by the scorecard of the match. Because Chittagong won by 7 wickets in the high-scoring match.

Shahadat Hossain Dipu played a big role in the victory of Chittagong. The 21-year-old batsman scored a half-century for the first time in T20. In the end he was unbeaten on 57 runs off 39 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes. On the other hand, Najibullah Zadran (61 runs off 30 balls, 3 fours and 5 sixes) gave great support to Shahadat. The duo put on 121 runs in an unbroken partnership for the fourth wicket. And Chittagong’s victory was confirmed with 9 balls in hand.

Chittagong Challengers’ innings in the match can be divided into two phases. In response to Sylhet’s 177 runs, after 11 overs, the Challengers’ run was 77 for 3 wickets. The Samudrapar team needed 101 runs from 54 balls to win. Until then, the outcome of the match was in the hands of the strikers. But after that, Najibullah and Shahadat came out of the shell.

In the next two overs, both of them scored 31 runs. Not only those two overs, but from then on, the two continued to attack the Sylhet bowlers in every over. At the same time, the fielders of the strikers arranged Miss Fieldings. Caught and counted three. Najibullah and Shahadat took advantage of this.

Earlier, Chittagong defeated opener Tanjid Hasan Tamim (2 runs from 5 balls) in the third over of the innings in response to Sylhet’s big run. After that, the franchise scored 56 runs for 1 wicket in 6 overs of the power play. Aviska Fernando, another opener, made a big contribution there. But Fernando (39 runs from 23 balls) returned to the pavilion after being bowled by Nazmul Islam for the team’s 57 runs. In the next over, another batsman, Imranuzzaman, was defeated, but Najibullah and Shahadat left the field after securing Chittagong’s victory.


You may also like

Leave a Comment