Home News ‘Big hope’ of small parties in elections

‘Big hope’ of small parties in elections

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Ahead of the elections, the small parties participating in the polls are negotiating with the Awami League for seat sharing. Trinamool BNP, BNF, Kalyan Party and other small parties are not happy with the number of seats that have been indicated. Awami League President Sheikh Hasina will not disappoint their hope.

Out of the 44 political parties registered in the upcoming 12th National Assembly elections, 29 parties including BNP-Jatiya Party are participating. 15 political parties including BNP are not in this election.

Meanwhile, Awami League alone has given candidates for 298 seats. Many leaders of the ruling party are also fighting as independents.

Apart from this, Zaker’s party has fielded candidates in 218 seats, NPP in 142 seats and Trinamool BNP has candidates in 151 seats. Apart from these, Bangladesh Congress has fielded candidates in 116 seats, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSAD) in 91 seats, Bangladesh Supreme Party in 82 seats, BNF in 55 seats and BNM in 49 seats. Alternative clause Bangladesh has also given candidates in 17 seats.

The hope of the leaders of the small parties, the Awami League will give up seats due to their popularity. In the meantime, some parties have also held meetings with the ruling party. However, the assurance did not come as expected.

BNF Chairman Abul Kalam Azad said, ‘I don’t expect more than 5 in the division fight. Maximum 5 hrs. The Prime Minister’s leadership, who wants to share seats, has no ability to dialogue for seat sharing in front of him. If he shows mercy to someone, then they can get it.’

Mahi B Chowdhury, Joint Secretary General of Alternative Bangladesh, said, ‘I am going to the elections with my strength. I will elect on my own brand, I will elect with my own party.’

Bangladesh Kalyan Party has fielded candidates in 14 seats. Chairman of the party Syed Muhammad Ibrahim said that the candidates are already preparing for the vote without looking at whether the seats have been distributed.

Syed Muhammad Ibrahim said, ‘We did not go to the method of compromise. We believe that the government will conduct free and fair elections. We have launched election activities based on that belief.’

Besides, there are some Islamic parties including Khilafat Movement, Islami Oikyazot in the polling field. However, the smaller parties claim not to get as much importance as the Jatiya Party in seat sharing.

On November 15, the election commission announced the schedule of the 12th national parliament election. According to the schedule, the vote will be held on January 7.


You may also like

Leave a Comment