Home Sports Bangladesh won T20 for the first time in New Zealand

Bangladesh won T20 for the first time in New Zealand

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Only two have crossed 20. Nobody’s strike is worth talking about except Soumya Sarkar. However, Bangladesh won the T20 for the first time against New Zealand on their soil. Bangladesh won by 5 wickets with 8 balls in hand.

However, when the target is only 135, then one does not have to do much with the bat.

However, the task was becoming difficult. The umpire gave Liton Das LBW on the last ball of the 15th over. Lytton was able to change his decision after taking the review. Otherwise, Bangladesh would have lost the sixth wicket by 98 runs.

Still it was possible to win the match. But there would have been some doubts about whether a team that scored 96 runs for 3 wickets could have handled the mental blow after losing 3 wickets out of 2 runs and scored 37 runs in 30 balls.

Fortunately for Bangladesh, Lyton, who played the role of anchor, survived the journey.

Earlier, Bangladesh’s start was not bad, but considering today’s target, it was not bad at all. Rony Talukder (10) got out in the second over after hitting a six. Captain Nazmul Hossain Shanto (19) added 25 more runs in partnership with Liton.

Soumya comes down and hits Ish Sodhi with a four-six. Ben Sears’ pace bowled Hoa, who managed just 22 runs before being dismissed, but his 15-ball 2 fours and 1 six boosted Bangladesh’s run-rate.

The fourth wicket partnership of Liton and Tawheed Hriday brought up 29 runs at 1 run per ball. But Santner and Southee picked up two wickets in 7 balls.

37 runs were needed in the last over. Liton – Mehdi scored 13 runs in the first two overs. In between, Liton got pain in his leg to avoid the run out. Sears hit a four off the first ball of Shushrusha. He caught the next ball at fine leg. But Ish Sodhi caught it and made it a six. Bangladesh gets 4 more runs from that over.

Only 10 runs were needed in the last 2 overs. Mehdi ended the trouble with 4 balls, one six and one four. Mehdi was unbeaten on 19 runs. On the other hand, Lytton was unbeaten on 42 runs off 36 balls.


You may also like

Leave a Comment