Home News Ballot papers have started arriving at polling stations in the capital

Ballot papers have started arriving at polling stations in the capital

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Voting for the 12th National Assembly elections will be held across the country today. Voting will start at 8 am and will continue till 4 pm. There are a total of 42 thousand 24 centers in this election. Two lakh 60 thousand 858 polling booths. Among them, ballot papers were sent to nearly 3,000 inaccessible centers on Saturday. The remaining 39,000 polling stations are scheduled to send ballot papers on polling day, that is, this morning.

The work of delivering ballot paper to the center from 15 places in the capital started at 5 am. The presiding officers are taking these ballot papers through the strict security of law and order forces. Chief Returning Officer Mohammad Sabirul Islam is handing over these ballot papers.

Already after 5 o’clock in the morning, the ballot papers of 110 centers have been delivered from Wills Little Flower School and College in the capital.

Candidates of 28 political parties, including the ruling Awami League, participated in the 12th National Assembly elections. Apart from the candidates of these parties, there are independent candidates in 225 seats. Most of the independents are supported by the ruling Awami League. Many of them are district-upazila level office holders, there are MPs of the current parliament.

16 registered parties, including BNP, one of the largest political parties in the country, have boycotted the election.

The control of the electoral polling ground is now in the hands of the organizing constitutional body Election Commission for the purpose of free, fair and impartial elections. The entire country has been covered under the security blanket on the EC’s orders. Law and order forces including judicial and executive magistrates, army, navy and air force, BGB, RAB, police and Ansar are deployed at the ground.

Elections are being held in 299 seats out of 300 seats in the National Parliament. As per the rules, EC postponed the polling of Naogaon-2 constituency after the death of an independent candidate. Otherwise, the 300 seats of the Jatiya Sangsad were supposed to be polled simultaneously.


You may also like

Leave a Comment