Home News Awami League is going to form the government

Awami League is going to form the government

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

The ruling Awami League won a single majority in the 12th National Parliament election. The party is going to power for four consecutive times under the leadership of Sheikh Hasina. According to the latest news released by the Election Commission (EC), Awami League has won 151 seats. 151 seats are needed to form the government.

As a result of the private election, there is no party even close to the boat. Independent candidates stand second. However, the results of all seats are not yet available.

After the counting of votes, center-wise results are released. The results obtained show that Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has won Gopalganj-3 constituencies unofficially for the eighth time in a row.

This Sunday, polling started from 8 am and continued till 4 pm. Polling in 7 centers was canceled due to allegations of irregularities across the country. There were 42 thousand 24 centers in this election. There were 2 lakh 60 thousand 856 polling booths. More than 200,000 election officials from returning officers to polling officers performed duties in the elections.

Among them there were 66 returning officers, 590 assistant returning officers and more than 42 thousand presiding officers. Out of 44 parties registered by the Election Commission (EC), 28 parties participated in this election. Other like-minded parties including BNP did not participate.

In the country’s electoral system, a party needs to get at least 151 seats out of 300 to form a single government. There are precedents in the country for forming a government with the support of other parties if a single majority is not achieved.

The 2008 Ninth National Assembly election is considered to be the most free and impartial election in the country’s history. Awami League got 230 seats in this election. BNP got 30 seats. And Awami League’s electoral alliance partner Jatiya Party had 27 seats.

After that, two more elections were held in the country in 2014 and 2018. Among them, BNP boycotted the 10th National Parliament election in 2014. BNP boycotted the election this time too.


You may also like

Leave a Comment