Home Sports A true leader gets his reward

A true leader gets his reward

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Australian captain Pat Cummins has bagged the much-coveted Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year 2023.
Hearing 59 wickets and 422 runs in 24 matches, many may think, what is this? But anyone who has watched Australia play this year will tell you, if there is to be a leader, it should be Cummins.

Under Cummins won the ODI World Cup this year, winning the Test Championship title for the first time. Australia returned with the Ashes from the soil of England. And Cummins didn’t just lift the trophy. In every case he led from the front.

Despite losing the Test series in India, Cummins has woken up Australia at crucial times. He won the Test Championship final against India. His feat in the Ashes will be part of future anthologies. Despite taking no wickets in the first innings in the first Test, his 38 runs with the bat kept England’s lead to just 10 runs.

He stopped the target below 300 with 4 wickets in the second innings. He later pulled the team from 8 for 229, not out for 44, to seal a brilliant 2-wicket victory.

Cummins has also contributed to both sides in the World Cup. Glenn Maxwell scored a double century to win Australia’s match after losing 7 wickets for 91 runs against Afghanistan. But without Cummins standing at the other end, that victory would have been impossible.

But he saved the best for the finale. Rohit Sharma’s blistering start got India off to a flying start. But Cummins gambled by bringing in Maxwell and Rohit got out in the last over of the powerplay.

After that, Cummins also returned Shreyas Iyer. His field setting completely stifled India’s runs. As he was released from the pressure, Kohli was dismissed by Cummins. India did not get any boundaries in Cummins’ 10 overs. Cummins took 2 wickets for 34 runs, India were stuck for just 240 runs. After that, Travis Head, Cummins’ rival for the man of the year award, brought the World Cup with a century. The Australian captain ended the year with 10 wickets in the match against Pakistan and won the Test series.


You may also like

Leave a Comment