Home News 37 US Sanctions and Visa Restrictions on Persons

37 US Sanctions and Visa Restrictions on Persons

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

The United States has imposed sanctions and visa restrictions on 37 individuals from 13 countries accused of human rights violations.

The ban was jointly issued by the US State Department and Treasury Department on Friday to mark the 75th anniversary of the United Nations Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Countries that have taken action are Afghanistan, Central African Republic, Congo, Haiti, Indonesia, Iran, Liberia, China, Russia, South Sudan and Sudan, Syria, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

Among them, two Afghan ministers have been banned for blocking girls’ access to higher secondary education, two Iranian officials for planning violence against US officials, and two Chinese officials for torturing the Uyghur Muslim community.

Sanctioned individuals cannot possess their assets in the United States. You cannot withdraw money deposited in any bank in the country. Apart from this, the sanctioned persons and institutions cannot do any business and transactions with the citizens of the United States.

US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken said that this ban will be implemented jointly with the United Kingdom and Canada.


You may also like

Leave a Comment