Home News 21 candidates lost their security in Bagerhat

21 candidates lost their security in Bagerhat

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

In the recently concluded twelfth parliamentary elections, 21 candidates of Jatiya Party, independents and small political parties lost their security in four seats of Bagerhat. Their security was forfeited as they did not get one-eighth of the total votes cast in the constituency.

Among the 21 candidates who have lost their security, five are from Bagerhat-1, five from Bagerhat-2, five from Bagerhat-3 and six from Bagerhat-4.

Local conscious citizens say that voters do not know most of the candidates participating in this election. Due to which they did not get the vote and lost the security.

Bagerhat-1 constituency. Kamruzzaman got 5 thousand 210 votes in the plow symbol, HM Ataur Rahman got 1 thousand 175 in Atiki, Basudev Guh (Mango) got 2 thousand 65, Md. Manjur Hossain Shikder (anchor) two thousand 796, Md. Mahfuzur Rahman (Sonali Ansh) got 1,785 votes. Total votes in this constituency are two lakh 38 thousand 693.

In the Bagerhat-2 constituency, Hazra Shahidul Islam (Plow) got 4,174 votes, SM Ajmal Hossain (Eagle) got 1,455 votes, Khan Arifur Rahman (Rose) got 3,163 votes, Maryam Sultana (Golden Scale) got 2,762 votes, Solaiman Shikdar (anchor) got 1 thousand 907 votes. Two lakh five thousand 872 votes were cast in the constituency.

Mofizul Islam Gazi (Dub) got 208 votes in Bagerhat-3 constituency, Manuel Sarkar (Sonali Ansh) got 228 votes, Md. Moniruzzaman Moni (plough) got 670 votes, Sheikh Nuruzzaman Masum (torch) got 338 votes, Subrata Mondal (anchor) got 423 votes. One lakh 47 thousand 930 votes were cast in this seat.

Bagerhat-4 constituencies. Jamil Hossain (Eagle) 5 thousand 376 votes, Muhammad Badruzzaman (Shari) 992, Muhammad Lokman (Mango) 1 thousand 611, Md. Rezaul Islam Raju (Anchor) got 636 votes, Lutfun Nahar Rikta (Soli Ansh) 607 and Sajan Kumar Mistry (Plough) got 2,220 votes. The total number of votes cast in this seat is 2 lakh 14 thousand 767.

Bagerhat District Commissioner and returning officer Moha. Khalid Hossain said that every candidate participating in the election submitted a bond of Tk 20,000 to the Returning Officer with the government code number through treasury challan. A rival candidate must secure one-eighth of the total votes cast. According to the law of the Election Commission, if the candidate participating in the election does not receive it, the security money deposited in the treasury of his government will be considered as forfeited. Means no candidate can get money back. A total of 21 candidates from various political parties and independents contesting the four constituencies of Bagerhat have lost their security deposit.

Former president of Bagerhat Conscious Citizens Committee Professor Chaudhuri Abdur Rob said that the voters of the area do not know the candidates of most of the political parties, except Awami League and Jatiya Party, which participated in the four constituencies of Bagerhat. Many do not live in the area. In the last five years, I have not even heard of a single day coming to the general electorate. The parties nominated them from the center and stood for polls. It is natural that they will lose their security by participating in the election war without electing a candidate acceptable to the common people. The call of this eminent citizen is that the party will carefully select candidates in the future election.


You may also like

Leave a Comment