Home News 14 parties want more seats, Awami League says there is no chance

14 parties want more seats, Awami League says there is no chance

by Afonso
0 comment
Rate this post

Awami League has agreed to leave 7 seats for the 14-party coalition partners ahead of the upcoming 12th National Parliament elections. But 14 parties are not satisfied with these 7 seats. The alliance leaders demanded to give some more seats to the ruling party. However, Awami League leaders say that there is no opportunity to give more seats than this.

14 parties have held four or five round meetings with Awami League since November 26 regarding seat sharing. Despite demanding 20 seats from the alliance, there was no compromise in the end.

After a meeting with the alliance leaders last Thursday evening, Awami League announced to give up 7 seats to its partners. Out of this, Bangladesh Workers Party has lost three seats, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JASD) three and Jatiya Party (JP) one seat.

Workers Party got Barisal-3, Rajshahi-2 and Satkhira-1. Jasd Kushtia-2, Lakshmipur-4, and Bogra-4 and JP got Pirojpur-2.

Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon has submitted nomination papers to contest Barisal-3 constituency, Jasd President Hasanul Haque Inu has submitted nomination papers for Kushtia-2 constituency and JP President Anwar Hossain Manju is electing from Pirojpur-2 constituency.

Besides, Fazle Hossain Badsha of Workers Party will be elected in Rajshahi-2 constituency, Mustafa Lutfullah Ahsan of the same party in Satkhira-1, Mosharof Hossain of Jasder in Lakshipur-4 and Rezaul Karim Tansen of the same party in Bogra-4.

After a program at the National Press Club on Friday, Jasd President Hasanul Haque Inu said that their seats need to be increased. He also demanded the withdrawal of independent candidates from the vacated seats, requesting them not to discriminate with partners.

Hasanul Haque Inu said, ‘The proposal made for 14 teams is a preliminary proposal, for now. We humbly request a reconsideration. The coalition candidate needs to withdraw the independent candidate from here.’

Meanwhile, in a press conference in Dhanmondi, Awami League General Secretary Obaidul Quader said that there is no opportunity to give additional seats. Awami

The leaders of the participating parties outside the seats outside the League can choose their party’s symbol if they want.

Obaidul Quader said, ‘All of them should do the election with their party’s symbol. We can sacrifice boats in seven constituencies. This decision has been announced. It is not possible for us to go beyond what has happened.’

On the other hand, Awami League Joint General Secretary Hasan Mahmud said in his bus building in the capital on Friday afternoon that the seats of the partners were not increased because the conditions in the polling field were not good.

Information Minister Hasan ‘if nominated or announced as a candidate of 14 parties, the chances of getting elected are low, it is difficult to compromise in their case. Awami League has no control over independent candidates. They stand as independent against the Awami League candidate. How can we control them?’

Besides, Hasan Mahmud also said that even if the Jatiya Party wants to hold separate elections, there will be an agreement with them.

Among the 44 political parties registered in the Election Commission, the candidates of 29 parties, including Awami League and Jatiya Party, are coming to the polls. On the other hand, 15 political parties including BNP have no candidates in this election.

According to the Election Commission, 303 people have asked for the boat of the ruling party Awami League in the country’s 300 parliamentary seats. Two candidates each filed nominations against boats in five seats. The partner parties of the 14-party alliance have also announced their own candidates.

Among them, 47 people have submitted their nominations for the ‘Flower Mala’ symbol of the Tariqat Federation, 6 people for the ‘Wheel’ symbol of the Communist Party, 12 people for the ‘Dove’ symbol of the Democratic Party, 20 people for the ‘Bicycle’ symbol of the Jatiya Party (JP), ‘Haturi’ of the Workers’ Party of Bangladesh. 33 people in ‘symbol and 91 people in ‘Mashal’ symbol of Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasad).

The Election Commission has canceled the nomination of all the candidates of the Democratic Party due to the chaos among them. As a result, they cannot participate in this election.

The 14-party alliance can be said to be the oldest of the political alliances currently in the polls. Political alliance Central 14 Party was formed in 2004 with some political parties supporting the liberation war to resist BNP-Jamaat. Awami League is the main partner of the alliance.

In 2009, the grand coalition led by Awami League came to power with a one-third majority. At this time, some leaders of the 14 parties were also included in the cabinet. This trend continued in the 2014 elections. Communist Party General Secretary Dilip Barua, Bangladesh Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (Jasad) President Hasanul Haque Inu and Jatiya Party (JP) President Anwar Hossain Manju have served as ministers for two consecutive terms.

However, after the Awami League came to power for the third consecutive term in the 2018 elections, no leader of the partner party was included in the cabinet. Awami League disagreed with the alliance leaders about this. Many coalition leaders have also openly criticized the ruling party. Of course, it didn’t take long for the ice to melt. Last July, the coalition leaders announced that they will come to the elections again in unity. As before, candidates of the central 14 parties will enter the voting field with the boat symbol of Awami League.

Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Kazi Habibul Awal announced the schedule of the 12th National Assembly elections on November 15. According to the schedule, the vote will be held on January 7. Last date for withdrawal of candidature is 17th December, and allotment of symbols will be on 18th December. Election campaign will start from December 18. It will continue until 8 am on January 5.


You may also like

Leave a Comment